Human Nature

It’s been a habit of mine to react to every single thing that has come my way, whether it was something that was said or done. Sort of like a defence mechanism- protecting myself from everything and anything.

I didn’t want to seem like too much or too little of something so I felt like I always had to prove something to people and even myself to ensure that I was still at the top. But I have quickly learned that’s not always the case.

“Every situation doesn’t always need a reaction” so I’ve been told.

That has been something that’s been constantly on my mind during the time I’ve been pregnant because I’ve been trying to transform my younger high school/college brain into things that I want my child to grow up learning. Your child is a mirror image of who you are and what you believe in and that is something that I firmly believe in. They look up to you, grow from you, and feed off your thoughts and energy.

Lately, I’ve been feeling like I’ve had to respond to everything that has come my way because that’s what comes with going to a small school and being pregnant. Everyone always has something to say.

The father of my child is still trying to find his way through this too, so we often argue about the little things that make up the whole process and of course, me having mommy-brain already, I feel ahead of that game.

It’s been a constant struggle between what I want to come out of this and what is the right thing to do during this time. Back to my quote about every situation doesn’t always need a reaction- every time there’s an argument, I have taken my thoughts and places them in a peaceful and calmer place, realizing that eventually, everything will work itself out to what it’s supposed to be.

Taking the time to clear your thoughts and frustrations is something that as a mom, you are going to have to learn to do. Like I said, I’ve come to realize that no matter how good of a person you are or what you’ve been through, people will always judge you and have something to say to or about you so take your life into your own hands and save the energy from a reaction. Your kids are going to love you because you are their protector and you are going to love them because they are a blessing and that’s all that’s going to matter.

Take a walk.
Write.
Breath.
Do stretches.
Take a nap.

Tell me things that you do to redirect your thoughts!

Happy Spring break, mommies & daddies.

Leave a comment